Power in Music

Socrates once said, “when the soul hears music, it drops its’ best guard.”

Music opens a door in the heart of the listener. Once inside, music can either beautify the interior of the soul, or desecrate it. Music can cause us to drop our guard, our good intentions, and lose control over our emotions. It can unlock a door into our soul and it can affect our minds. The beat of the music can be so powerful to even rob of us the ability to listen to the words, and it affects our lives and our value systems.

The bible tells us that everything we do must be brought under submission to Christ, and this also applies to the music we listen too. We should determine to make music, like every other area of our lives, subservient to Christ. We need to decide that we will not allow this area of our lives to detract from the purpose of the gospel.

This year I have made a commitment to only listen to music for its message and not just for its rhythm. Already, listening to Christian music throughout the day has changed my relationship with God. It has transformed the way I relate to others, the way I speak, and even the way I think. While I was listening to secular music, my relationship with God wasn’t enough to satisfy me. But now I choose to guard my heart, my mind, and my actions, by guarding not only what I see, but also the music I hear.

musicalnotes

Excerpts taken from Michael Card, “The Power of Music.”

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kkw on January 4, 2013 at 7:17 am

    Great piece!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kojo on January 5, 2013 at 5:06 am

    So true, when I was seeking for a personal relationship with Christ the secular music that I was listening to didn’t allow God to mold me and equip me with the truth, but when I decided to stop the secular music and only play gospel, accappella and hymms I notice the difference, I was finally growing in Christ 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

