Where is God

This year I have committed to read through the Bible chronologically. Today’s passage comes from Job 17:

“My spirit is crushed, and I am near death. The grave is ready to receive me. I am surrounded by mockers. I watch how bitterly they taunt me. My eyes are dim with weeping, and I am but a shadow of my former self. My days are over. My hopes have disappeared. My heart’s desires are broken. I might go to the grave and make my bed in darkness. And I might call the grave my father, and the worm my mother and my sister. But where then is my hope? Can anyone find it? No, my hope will go down with me to the grave.”

We all know what it is like to feel hopeless. In the midst of our circumstance, sometimes we see no way out. We have no help. We have no joy. We question God’s presence in our lives. We forget how He has led us in the past.

But whenever I am reading Job and find myself questioning God: I quickly skip to the end of the story. I skip to God’s answer.

Job 38:

“Then the Lord answered Job from the whirlwind: “Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorant words? Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? Tell me, if you know so much. Have you ever commanded the morning to appear and caused the dawn to rise in the east? Have you made daylight spread to the ends of the earth, to bring an end to the night’s wickedness?”

Our God is a great God. We may not understand our circumstance. But its not ours to question God. Instead we trust His ways, which are above our own.

“Sometimes we ask God to fix things, that He is not going to fix. Change things that He is not going to change. We ask Him to move things that He is not going to move. He may not change your circumstances, but He will give the grace to bear it. He may not move your problem, but He will give you the grace to stand it. God may not take you out of the fire, but He will be a thermostat in the furnace, so that the flames of trials and despair will not scorch you, but refine you into pure gold. When there is no way left for you to try, when all your plans have failed, and you see no way of relief, God says: Here I am. My strength is made perfect in your weakness.”

God is still God in the middle of your trial. He will never leave you or forsake you.

eagle

Leave a Reply

