Still, I wait.

Image

Night fell.

Again, alone.

Lights off,

Eyes closed.

 

I hear my heart pounding in my chest,

as I struggle grasping just for one breath.

 

Against the windowsill I lay

High up.

While the world,

Its lights, it’s glamour

quietly corrupts.

 

Cool breeze.

Chills race up my spine.

I lean in, shuddering,

Numbness making the scars feel just fine.

 

The anticipation rises.
Impregnated with fear

Resigned to deliver,

but unable to bear.

See. I’m never ready.

Again and again

I try to stay steady

 

I’ve tried to escape

But no longer

 

I just wait.

 

Tonight

I won’t fight.

 

Our understanding is simple,

I’m wrong, it’s right.

 

All day I’ve tried to hide

But the night always reveals

what the light hides.

 

I finally see things the way they are,

or the way I’ve created them to be.

 

Years of running and hiding

But never finding peace to set me free

 

Darkness.

It envelops me once again,

Covering me till I almost feel its my friend.

 

Every night it comes

And so now

I simply wait

No longer hoping for an escape

 

Seconds, minutes

Minutes, hours

 

I call His Name!

And that night, it never came.

 

I pressed

I waited

I urged it onwards

But tonight its hold on me was no longer.

 

 

 “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.”

(James 2:19)

 “That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth.”

(Philippians 2:10)

“Our struggle is not against flesh and blood… but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”

(Ephesians 6:12)

 

 

Fear and hopelessness is of the devil. But there is one greater. Call His name!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by kkw on May 13, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks for sharing. God bless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

