The Prodigal son returns (too long)

(This has also been sitting in my drafts for too long.)

 

 

I want to scream but no words come out

Not for lack of things to say

But an absence of words that could be accepted

I want to fall into your arms and cry

But I won’t because you’ll probably ask why

I would run to you

But you’re no longer there
my arms outstretched

grasping at thin air

I would speak, you promised to listen

But I face judgment, rebuke, and derision

It’s been hard, for too long.

 

 

Hope, hurts. Faith fails. Love breaks.

But moments of pain are buffeted by songs of hope

Words of love

Moment of peace

Reminders that you are not alone

It’s those small moments

Those tiny victorys

Those glimpses of light

And I remember he is still there

 

I find him when I’m no longer looking

I hear him when I’m barely listening

I feel Him when my hands are tied

 

I don’t know why but He hears

I can’t understand but He cares

I can’t fathom how

But He’s there

He sees me, falls on me and tells me to come home

It’s been, too long.

 

prodigreturns

Leave a Reply

